Modi to release postage stamp of K Raghavan Thirumulpad

Late Vaidyabhushanam K Raghavan Thirumulpad, an eminent Ayurveda physician and Sanskrit scholar, would soon be honoured with a commemorative postage stamp. He will be one among the 12 mater healers of alternative medicine systems to be honoured with a postage stamp by the Union ministry of Ayush.

Thirumulpad, who was awarded the Padma Bhushan posthumously in 2011, is the only physician from the state to feature in the set of 12 stamps to be released by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in New Delhi on August 30; 2019.

Raghavan Thirumulpad, a proponent of classical Ayurveda had inspired  generations of Ayurveda students and symbolized a harmonious mix of ethics and rationality in the practice of medicine.

Expressing happiness over the move, Mukundan Kizhakkemadam, the son of the late physician said his brother K Murali, a professor at Ayurveda Medical College in Tripunithura, would be attending the event.

Ayush ministry earlier this year had released a wall calendar with the theme ‘Master Healers of AYUSH’.

Apart from Thirumulpad, the commemorative stamps would honour Maharishi Mahesh Yogi, Hakim Mohammed Ajmal Khan, Vaidya Shastri Shankar Daji Pade, Vaidya Bhaskar Vishwanath Gokhle, Rajvaidya Shri Brihaspati Dev Triguna, Dr Babu Rajendra Lal Dutta, Hakim Mohammed Abdul Aziz Lakhnawi, Vaidya Yadavji Trikamji Acharya, Dr Dinshaw Mehta and TV Sambasivam Pillai.

Managed by

Leave a Comment: