NABH Accreditation

NABH Framework of Accreditation Programmes


  • Allopathy Hopsitals
  • SHCO/ Nursing Homes
  • AYUSH Hospitals & AYUSH Clinics
  • Wellness Centres
  • Dental Health Care Service Providers
  • Medical Imaging Centres
  • Allopathy Clinics
  • Blood Banks
  • OST Centres


As we all are aware, there is a resurgence of interest in the holistic systems of health care, especially in the prevention and management of chronic lifestyle related non communicable diseases and systemic diseases. Health sector trends suggest that no single system of health care has the capacity to solve all of the society’s needs. India can be a world leader in the era of integrative medicine because it has strong foundations in western biomedical sciences and an immensely rich and mature indigenous medical heritage of its own.

NABH as it stands for National Accreditation Board for Hospitals & Health Care Service Providers (NABH) is a constituent board of Quality Council of India(QCI)established in 2006.

The Mission of NABH is to operate accreditation and allied programs in collaboration with stakeholders focusing on patient safety and quality of healthcare based upon national/international standards, through process of self and external evaluation.

NABH approach is to ensure that the health care services delivery is patient centric. It also ensures that the practices being practiced by the institution are in accordance with the norms as set out by the experts in the health care field on a uniform basis.

Generally we look for Hallmark in Gold jewellery and Agmark for food products as a mark for quality. In the same manner the NABH symbol is the MARK OF Excellence in delivery of health care services. NABH mark is internationally recognized as NABH is ISQua(International Society for Quality in Health care) accredited as an organization.

NABH standards are international standards customized to Indian healthcare settings and their needs. NABH delves into various areas of healthcare, besides Allopathy hospitals, Original system of medicine – AYUSH hospitals & AYUSH clinics, Dental Hospitals & Clinics, Wellness Centres, Blood Banks, and Diagnostic Centres etc. NABH Standards have 10 Chapters and more than 500 elements based on which an organization is evaluated and accreditation is granted. The standards have been established as a process of continuous research, understanding fully well the applicability of the same in the field of services. The need to establish the standards is of prime importance to imbibe confidence among the patients. The international patients chose their hospital before coming to India based on Accreditation. Thus accreditation giving boost to Medical Tourism in India. Even the local patients have started using Accreditation as a mechanism to choose the hospital/clinic where they want to get treated. NABH has over a thousand of healthcare organizations in India either in process of already accredited. Accreditation is a voluntary process and once an organization is accredited, it is accredited for 3 years.

CGHS while empanelling health care organizations insists on inspection by Quality Council of India and preferably NABH Accreditation. Ministry of Tourism has approved financial incentives upto 6 lakhs per year to NABH accredited organizations.

There is a need for creating awareness among the masses and collaborative efforts of all stakeholders to come together and collaborate to enhance the quality of Indian health care system.

International Linkages

  1. NABH is ISQua (International Society for Quality in Health Care) as an organization.
  2. NABH is an institutional member and Board member of ISQua
  3. NABH is a member of Accreditation Council of ISQua.
  4. NABH is an founder member of ASQua ( Asian Society for Quality In health care)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Captcha * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Stay Connected